If you wish to contact the Bishop’s Office, which is not located at the Cathedral Church, please visit the website of the diocese: www.rcdea.org.uk 

Bishop Peter Collins

Peter Gwilym Collins was born on May 13, 1958, in the town of Tredegar, South Wales, and then nurtured with his three older sisters in the nearby village of Rhymney.  He attended local Catholic primary and secondary schools and then briefly explored a pathway into teaching before being accepted for seminary formation in 1978.  Following six years at the Royal English College, Valladolid, Spain, he was ordained to the priesthood for the Archdiocese of Cardiff on July 14, 1984.  His philosophical and theological studies were undertaken at the Augustinian Faculty in Valladolid, at the Pontifical University of Comillas in Madrid and at the Pontifical University of Salamanca.

He served as an Assistant Priest in the Metropolitan Cathedral of St David, Cardiff, from 1984-86 and in Bridgend from 1986-88.  He returned to Spain for post-graduate study before taking up his appointment as Vice Rector at the Royal English College, serving there from 1989-94.

Upon his return to the Archdiocese, he was appointed as Parish Priest of Chepstow and Caldicot.  In 2001 he became Dean of the Metropolitan Cathedral in Cardiff, serving there for the next 18 years.  In 2006, he was appointed as a member of the Metropolitan Chapter of Canons.  In 2019, he moved to the next-door parishes of St Mary of the Angels, Canton and Holy Family, Fairwater.

Alongside his parish responsibilities, Bishop-Elect Peter Collins has served in a multiplicity of diocesan roles: 12 years as Chair of the Education Commission; ten years as Director of the Diaconate; 28 years in various safeguarding roles, being designated as Archbishop’s Delegate to the first national meeting on safeguarding in 1995 and later serving as Coordinator and Clergy Advisor. He has also served as an area Dean, a member of the College of Consultors, a member of the Archbishop’s Council and as a Trustee. He was appointed to the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem in 2004.

Canon Peter was appointed Bishop-Elect of East Anglia on October 11, 2022 in an announcement made simultaneously in Rome and Norwich.

He was ordained as the fifth Bishop of East Anglia on December 14, 2022 at St John the Baptist Cathedral in Norwich by his predecessor Bishop Alan Hopes.

The Bishop’s Office is located in the parish of Poringland, south of Norwich, and his office may be contacted by visiting the diocesan website [www.rcdea.org.uk]. There, you can find contact details, as well as copies of his homilies, and latest news.

Our previous bishops

1976 – 1995: Bishop Alan Clark [died 16 July 2002, buried in the Basilica of Our Lady at Walsingham]

1995 – 2001: Bishop Peter Smith [died 6 March 2020, buried in the Metropolitan Catholic Church of St George at Southwark]

2003 – 2011: Bishop Michael Evans [died 11 July 2011, buried in the Cathedral Church of St John the Baptist at Norwich]

2013 – 2022: Bishop Alan Hopes